Gallery

Underground Cooking Club: Making Progress

One of the best days I have had in a while was when I was given the budget to shop for kitchen equipment.  I spent about 2 hours in an industrial kitchen supply store.   I giggled at the shiny stainless steel items, ran my hands over polished ceramic and marble, tested the blades of different knives and dreamed of brick pizza ovens.  I love my job and all the details that go with it.

I am pleased to report that my cooking classes are going well.  I have hosted 4 classes so far with a total of 20 students.  I have a Spanish cuisine course this Saturday and I am already dreaming of Sangria and Paella.  The feedback has been extremely positive and we have only had minor bumps along the way, but it all helps to create a smooth well oiled system.

So even though I have spent late nights and most of my days glued to my computer creating curriculums and typing recipes, it is worth it and I enjoy seeing it slowly but steady gain momentum.  It feels good to be doing something… to be a part of something.  I have a photo shoot scheduled tomorrow morning with some employees of a very well respected Costa Rican newspaper.  I hope to be able to post about it soon!

For now I am off to press my uniform and get things ready for tomorrow.

Hope all of you are well and enjoyed some version of Valentine’s Day.

Take care!


Leave a Reply

