Gallery

Doing It In The Dark

My colleague Doris Goldgewicht is a Costa Rican kitchen guru that takes on projects all the time so she can continue learning and support different causes.  She approached me a few weeks ago and introduced me to Earth Hour.  I had vaguely heard about it a couple years ago, but had never been involved.  She asked if I would write up an article for Earth Hour awareness, it is hard to say no to such a bright personality and I don’t think the two letter word even crossed my mind.

The goal of Earth Hour is to raise awareness for the need to make personal changes to decrease carbon footprints and become more conscientious of climate change.  People are encouraged to not use electricity for 1 hour simultaneously around the world.  This year in Costa Rica, Earth Hour takes place on Saturday, March 23rd at 20:30 (check your local time following this link I set up).

People are challenging others to take part around the world and I racked my brain for a way to tie Earth Hour together with food.  I realized that while most people turn off their lights for the event and in support of the movement, many people still waste resources by cooking a meal that evening, regardless of electric or gas stoves, people cook.  So I created a completely uncooked Earth Hour menu.  The 3 course menu was made completely by hand without electronic gadgets, stoves or other heating devices.

The first course is a zucchini carpaccio with hibiscus salt followed by a Thai inspired beef salad.  The last dish is a cranberry ginger cheesecake.  An added bonus is the whole set of recipes is gluten free.  I had a blast not cooking and taking photos with my sisters who helped me whip up the dishes and set up lighting.  Be sure to check out the photos for instructions, I created recipe cards with them.

March is national pecan month in the US of A and the 23rd is a memorable day for many people.  In 1873 on said day slavery was abolished in Puerto Rico.  Fast forward 18 years and the first jazz concert was played in Carnegie Hall.  Designer Kenneth Cole, singer Chaka Khan and celebrity blogger Perez Hilton will most likely celebrate that particular combination of two digits seeing as they all share that birthdate.  I also assume that Evil Knievel will hardly forget March 23rd because in 1972 it was the day he broke 93 of the 206 bones in his body.

Personally I imagine Earth Hour around the world and I picture people reading by candlelight, friends chatting around a bonfire, families playing hide-and-seek in the dark and couples enjoying kissing sessions.  Whatever you choose to do, make it special; whether you pamper yourself with incense and meditation, get together for an acoustic jam session or try to hunt down Camelopardalis in the night sky, do it in the dark and have fun.

How will you remember this March 23rd?  Will you participate in Earth Hour?  I would love to hear about what you do in the dark so be sure to let me know.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

