Gallery

Resolutions…It’s the thought that counts?

Some of you may not know that wordpress, the blog platform I use generates a yearly report that informs the blogger how many visitors stopped by, which articles were the most views and so on….  Each year I read the review and enjoy the highlights, but always think… I could have done better.  Therefore one of my goals this year is to improve my blogging. (P.S. if any bloggers out there have any tips they care to share, fire away)

I have had limited time due to working at Costa Rica Beer Factory, which I have now moved on from.  I also have been dedicated massive amounts of time to an online Harvard class about the science of gastronomy and there are days when it just kicks my butt.  By far though the most exciting thing I did lately was travel.

I saved enough money to take my two youngest sisters on their first international trip ever!  They had never set foot outside of Costa Rica and they had never seen snow, so I wrapped it all up in a visit to Denver, Colorado.  We had a blast and did lots of fun stuff, but I wanted to share about some of the food we ate.

If you are ever in Denver, you have to stop by Panzano.  An Italian restaurant that does simple food so well.  We went during happy hour (for the special prices, not the drinks, my sisters are underage) and sampled many different items.  My two favorites: Cavolini di Bruxelles (Fried Brussels sprouts topped with apple cider reduction, pistachios, rosemary salt and sliced green apple) and Agnello Arrosto (Rosemary roasted lamb shoulder, potato gnocchi, agro dolce fig
glaze, goat cheese and walnuts).

I was so enamored with the dishes that I asked to tip the kitchen members responsible for my dishes with a complimentary beverage (a gesture that as a cook, I know would be appreciated) for them after they got off work.  However I was regretfully informed that it was against company policy for staff members to drink on site.  So whoever you are that made the exquisite brussel sprouts and lamb, look me up when you are in town, drinks are on me.

So I am pledging to post at least twice a month.  My aim is that one of those posts will be about trying a new recipe and therefore I can kill two birds with one stone and also participate in Our Growing Edge.  The other post…well it will remain to be seen what deserves writing about.  If you have any particular topics you would like me to approach, feel free to suggest them.  Hopefully this resolution will be something I can manage and not just a thought.

Happy New Year to all!

Leave a Reply

