Gallery

So I started something…

In an effort to find ways to keep my creative juices flowing and create content that hopefully my readers will find interesting, I started a photography project.  I maintain a facebook page for my Underground Cooking Club and find it increasingly hard to keep it active; mainly because I am not a huge social media fan.  However, I have noticed that my page followers enjoy when I post recipes, tips and blog updates.

So I am killing two birds with one stone here and dual publishing my photography project.  My dear readers, welcome to “Culinary Hacks”.  Tidbits of information that will help you make better decisions, make your cooking existence easier, help you be more efficient and encourage you to think outside the box.  I am posting a hack every Friday on the facebook page and will do the same here.

So without further ado:

Hack #1: Homemade Buttermilk

Is your heart set on biscuits, but you don’t have buttermilk on hand?  Perhaps, you want to make a recipe that only needs a little bit and you want to avoid buying the entire carton.  The next best thing is to make it yourself.

1 cup milk or cream + 1 tablespoon lemon juice or vinegar = BUTTERMILK

It is that easy!  Take both ingredients, mix them together and let sit for 5 – 10 minutes.  Try it out.  Let me know what you make with it.

Make your own buttermilk with 1 cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice

Make your own buttermilk with 1 cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

