Gallery

Beat and Bake – The Peruvian Souffle

I teach class at Centro Gastronomico Sabores from time to time.  The challenge is usually to make awesome stuff a home cook can easily replicate.  Sometimes the task is made a bit difficult by the topic of the class, such as the one I did this month for Gluten Free Baking.

I do a lot of gluten free cooking at home.  My mother and my youngest sisters have celiac disease, so I am always trying to come up with tasty treats.  Mom is my hardest critic, because she hasn’t always been celiac, so her quality gauge is based on many delicious previous experiences.  She will be the first to say: “Its good, but not as great as the normal version.”  Basically in my world that translates as… Try again.”

So playing around, to find new gluten free ideas, I decided to try my hand at Huevos Chimbo.  A traditional Peruvian dessert much like a french souffle, but simpler.  It dawned on me that the recipe would also give me something to share with my fellow edge growers as it was a completely new experience to me.  Our Growing Edge is hosted this month by Louise, a silly cake lover and author of Crumbs and Corkscrews.

Readers, bear with me, I intend to provide a recipe that has measurements, but really you won’t need them!

Our Growing Edge

Huevos Chimbo a.k.a Peruvian Souffle

Ingredients
8 egg yolks
60ml (1/4 cup) water
200g (1 cup) sugar
Flavor adding ingredients (vanilla, cinnamon, citrus peel, etc)
 
Directions
Place the egg yolks in the bowl of an electric mixer.  Beat on medium speed for 15 – 20 minutes.  Heat oven to 350°F (175°C).  Lightly grease 4 ramekins or small baking molds.  Divide beaten yolks between the molds.  Bake for 10 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the mixture comes out clean. Combine the water and sugar in a small saucepan. Add in the flavor of your choosing.  Place over low heat; stir gently and cook on low until the mixture reaches a syrupy consistency.  Once the molds have been removed from the oven, divide the syrup evenly between them ,allow to cool to room temperature and refrigerate for at least 4 hours. 
 
Makes 4 servings

So here is what you  need to know. Yes you beat the yolks that long and yes all you do is bake the whipped egg yolks.  It is that simple, beat and bake.  For each serving you want to make you need 2 egg yolks.  You can pour the whipped yolks into a single baking dish, just adjust the cooking time which will be about double (20min).  Traditionally the syrup used for the soak is made with Pisco and cinnamon.  I made a lime vanilla syrup; flavor the syrup however you like.  Once you have tried the recipe you can decide if you want to adjust the syrup soak the next time around.

These are best made the day before so they have time to soak up more syrup.  The initial texture reminded me of a souffle but after the syrup-soaking it was more like a soaked angel food cake.  I quite enjoyed the dessert and will probably make it again in the future when in need of a quick or gluten free dessert.  Try it out and share your results!

Happy edge growing!

6 responses to “Beat and Bake – The Peruvian Souffle

  1. These sound delicious; think I’m going to give these a try over the weekend 🙂 Popping over from #OurGrowingEdge

  2. Interesting recipe. I hardly ever see recipes for egg yolks. To use up the egg whites, you could make a New Zealand Pavlova for dessert the following day 🙂

Leave a Reply

