Gallery

Our Growing Edge: Korean Sticky Chicken

Sometimes when something is good, you just want to share it.  That is how I felt about the Korean sticky chicken I made the other day.  Usually Korean fried chicken is a lightly battered wing doused in some kind of sweet savory sauce.  Even though it is well worth the effort, sometimes I just get lazy.  I decided to share my laziness with my fellow edge growers.

Phuong is a Vietnamese cook loving what she does in England.  She built her blog as a kind of online recipe record keeper.  She takes beautiful photos of her forays in the kitchen over at My Kitchen of Love, where she is hosting this month’s Our Growing Edge round-up.

For my impromtu Korean fried chicken, I skipped the batter and just dusted the chicken with starch, although it doesn’t brown the same or hold a crisp texture as long, it still is quite tasty.  Generally it is required to make a simple syrup, which has to be cooked to the right consistency.  I figured that honey already had that consistency but it has a very distinct flavor.  I decided to combine honey and agave and it cut the cook time for syrup by 75%.

I would recommend making this with thigh meat just because it is more flavorful and juicy.  I used what I had in the pantry that smacked of Korean cuisine staples: green onion, starch and garlic.  If I had actually planned the dish out I would have also used sesame seeds and chili flakes (the Korean kind).  This chicken is just a mouthful of different flavors, which is why I love it so much.

Our Growing EdgeKorean Sticky Chicken

Ingredients
2lbs (1k) chicken breast, sliced into tenders
1/4 cup cornstarch
3 tablespoons agave syrup
3 tablespoons honey
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, grated
3 stalks green onion, thinly sliced
1/4 cup mixed nuts, roughly chopped
salt
pepper
 
Directions
Season the chicken with salt and pepper.  Season the cornstarch with salt and pepper.  Toss the chicken in the cornstarch and dust off any excess.  Heat an inch of oil in a deep skillet.  Fry the chicken tenders until golden brown and drain over paper towels.  In a small saucepan combine the agave, honey, garlic and ginger.  Bring to a medium heat and cook for 2 minutes.  Pour the syrup over the fried chicken tenders.  Sprinkle the chicken with the green onion and nuts.  Serve.
 
Makes 4 servings

I would encourage those who want to try this out to get even more creative.  Make a sweet soy sauce syrup for the chicken or sprinkle it with a seaweed mixture such as furikake!  You could even go as far as pan-frying them in sesame oil.  This recipe is gluten-free, tasty, easy to make and a quick fix for when you want to eat something good without making a whole lot of effort.  From start to finish, it took me a total of 20 minutes…pretty hard to beat.

Happy Edge Growing!

Korean sticky chicken...a quick version of Korean fried chicken

Korean sticky chicken…a quick version of Korean fried chicken

10 responses to “Our Growing Edge: Korean Sticky Chicken

  1. Yum! I like how you have used agave syrup and honey. I haven’t used agave syrup before but often use honey as a sugar substitute.

    Chicken thighs are my preference. The meat is so silky and flavourful. I never buy breast anymore, even though my husband insists he prefers breast. When he does the shopping and the cooking, he can have chicken breast 😀

    Great tie-in with your recipe and our lovely host this month!

  2. Looks delicious – I might try oven roasting some bone in chicken piece and then glazing with the sauce. I will let you know!

  3. Pingback: Sticky Spicy Chicken | Selma's Table

  4. Hi Chandler – I have made a version of them and posted them on my blog, giving you credit of course!!! Thanks for a lovely recipe!

Leave a Reply

