Gallery

Name That Breakfast

All this new year, new me, stuff never really is my thing.  I see a new opportunity to improve on things built.  In kitchen terms I tend to set new goals for places to travel, techniques to learn, colleagues to meet….  A lot of thought is put into my culinary creative process, at least when trying to give it some direction.  However there are moments where you just come up with something ‘on the fly’.

Last weekend was one of those moments.  Two long nights of dancing it all away, left me hungry and tired.  I was in a mood where I wanted to cook something different but familiar.  Walk with me if you will…  It all started with bacon (as most good stories (i.e. recipes) do).  Iron skillet in hand, I crisped some strips, crumbled them and set them aside.  The lone potato in the cupboard was turned into a hash brown patty.  Eggs and cheese got involved and it was delicious.

Francesca, this month’s host for Our Growing Edge, has a blog called Fearless Kitchen that has recipes that are easy to follow, simple but very flavorful.  She has admitted to flying by the seat of her pants when she makes dinner, so I do hope I did her hosting justice by doing that with breakfast.  I knew the Growing Edge readers would appreciate the simplicity of the dish, but I also wanted to make sure it had a little finesse.  One 5 inch baking ring was all I needed.

Now this dish doesn’t scare me, but it does represent how I like to start the new year… well fed and with a solid foundation.  The photos are a bit rougher than I would like but hey, I pulled it all together before even having coffee, so give me a little break.  I am currently taking name suggestions for the breakfast that ensued, be sure to leave your comments!

growing edge

Insert Name Here*

Ingredients
2 strips of bacon
1 potato, peeled and grated
2 eggs
Olive oil
Handful of cheddar cheese
Salt
Pepper

Directions
Heat an iron skillet over a medium flame.  Cook the bacon strips until crisp.  Drain over paper towels.  Crumble the bacon.  Toss the grated potato in a bowl with salt and pepper.  Set aside for 5 minutes.  Use the remaining bacon grease or olive oil over a medium heat.  Place a 5 inch baking ring in the skillet.  Drain the grated potato and lightly press it into the baking ring.  Using a spoon or spatula to gently press on the grated potato patty, remove the baking ring.  Cook the hash brown patty for approximately 3 minutes or until golden.  Flip the patty, sprinkle with cheese and cook for 3 minutes more or until golden.  Remove from the skillet and put the patty on a plate.
 
Add a small amount of oil to the skillet, ensure that the skillet is on a medium-low heat.  Place the 5 inch baking ring in the skillet.  Crack the eggs into the ring.  Season with salt and pepper.  Fry eggs to the term of your liking.  Place the crumbled bacon on top of the cheese on the hash brown patty.  When the eggs are cooked to term, carefully remove the baking ring and place the eggs on top of the bacon.  Serve the dish with hot sauce if desired.

Until next time…

2 responses to “Name That Breakfast

  1. Yum! This reminds me a bit of my favourite breakfast at a local cafe. It’s call the “bacon hash” and is a stack of bacon, hash brown hollandaise and mushrooms. I always feel that the dish is lacking in eggs though. A runny egg on top would be just the ticket.

  2. Pingback: Our Growing Edge – January 2015 Round-Up | Fearless Kitchen

Leave a Reply

