Gallery

Refrigerator Ramen

I have to be honest… half the time I do not know the monthly theme for Our Growing Edge. Generally within my tinkering, I end up with a creation that I hope qualifies. To be fair though, Genie at Bunny Eats Design, defined the entire event as “…the part of us that is still learning and experimenting…. This monthly event aims to connect and inspire us to try new things and to compile a monthly snapshot of what food bloggers are getting up to.”  I believe that each time I participate, I at least live up to that.

growing edge

Lately I have been experimenting considerably…  Recipe development has been afoot, but we will address that later on. The last few times I participated in Our Growing Edge, I regretfully admit I did not take time to read through other submissions. This month however, I am beginning to get back on track and have penciled in some reading time. I thoroughly look forward to reading about what everyone cooks up.

Mr. Fitz, this month’s host seems to stay quite busy with travels and food experiments. He started his blog a few years ago with the thought “It’s gonna be all about food… I like food…” He seems to be on all the social media platforms, so kudos. I have noticed other bloggers are as well. I just can’t seem to understand the craze. I keep being told I should succumb to the twitter and Instagram fever…  Perhaps I should; it would likely help my situation

Occasionally the casual mood for something tasty will strike and usually only run-of-the-mill ingredients can be located in my pantry. Nevertheless, my world experiences have taught me that anything can be elevated and many times it is best to keep it simple. I have fiddled with an instant pantry classic for Our Growing Edge before. This month, I upgraded ramen one afternoon and it proved just as good and equally as easy to tailor.

Our Growing EdgeRefrigerator Ramen

Ingredients
3 strips of bacon, minced
¼ purple onion, minced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 small carrot, finely diced
1 cob of sweet corn, kernels cut off the cob
3 oz boxed Chablis wine
1 package instant ramen
3 oz water
8 medium size shrimp (shelled and deveined), cut in half
2 hard boiled eggs, quartered
Sriracha
 
Directions
Heat a small amount of oil in a small saucepan over a medium high heat.  Sauté the bacon until almost crisp.  Stir in the onions and sauté for about 2 minutes.  Add in the garlic and cook for 1 minute.  Incorporate the carrots and sauté for 3 minutes.  Mix in the corn kernels.  Pour the Chablis in to deglaze* the pan.  Immediately add in the ramen noodles.  Cover the sauce pan with a lid and cook on medium low heat for 3 minutes.  Stir the noodles to loosen.  Pour in the water and cook covered for another 2 minutes.  Toss in the shrimp.  Cook until the shrimp is cooked through.  Season with salt to taste.  Serve with hard boiled eggs and drizzle with sriracha.
 
Makes 1 serving

 

SIDENOTE: deglazing is the name for the technique of removing and dissolving browned food residue from a pan with a liquid to add extra flavor to a dish.

This was bowl-scraping, chopstick-licking good! You could easily use whatever you have on hand. Add in more veggies like bell pepper, green onion or grated zucchini. Swap out the protein for chicken breast or left over pork chops. Not a wine drinker? Use beer or vinegar. Come up with your own variation and be sure to let me know how it turns out. Oh and if anyone wants to help share my situation on social media, it is appreciated!  Here’s to refrigerator randomness!

Happy Edge Growing!

One response to “Refrigerator Ramen

  1. Pingback: Bunny eats design round-up – Cooking with Mr Fitz

Leave a Reply

