Gallery

Mission Al Fresco – Disappointments and Progress

I have had a few setbacks as of late and have been busy doing damage control to try to stay on track for Italy.  I want to first thank the sponsors who have contributed to my education fund.  I am honored and humbled.  I am privileged to love what I do but sensible enough to realize I cannot do it all on my own.

I renewed my membership and  attempted to book some of my classes.  I was extremely disappointed to find that many of the ones I was most excited about are sold out.  Unfortunately there were no more spaces available with the Russian twins Sergey and Ivan Berezutskiy or with Enrico Crippa.

I will have to hold off on booking all of the Salone del Gusto workshops I am interested in.  However, I would like to share the list of what I have reserved so far:


9/23
– Drink Wild, Feel Wood*ing!

9/24
– Into the Wild: Juri Chiotti’s Extreme Mountain Cooking
– Bush Tucker – Native Australian Food

9/25
– Cooking with Agave
– Master of Food – The Unexpected History of the Fifth Quarter

9/26
– Monastic Beers
Preservation Techniques
– Tiramisu Challenge


This year the format for Salone del Gusto has changed entirely.  They are taking it outside to the streets.  Turin’s most beautiful landmarks will be filled with culinary awesomeness.  Visitors will be able to explore Parco del Valentino, Borgo Medievale, Palazzo Reale, Teatro Carignano, Circolo dei Lettori and Reggia di Venaria, among other spots.

In my downtime (not that I have much of it) while still preparing for the festival, I will be developing new cocktail recipes.  For those readers that have been following the Saturday Sips collection, do not dismay, new additions are in the works.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

